Siggiewi scenic walk 2007

A group of around 145 ramblers turned up for today?s walk, in excellent weather. From the Siggiewi main church (San Nikola), we made our way towards the hamlet of Hal Xluq with its picturesque chapel, dedicated to Marija Assunta. Nothing remains of the hamlet, except for the chapel itself. This chapel was built in 1596, on the site of an earlier chapel. The chapel was at one time used as a farmhouse, but is now in relatively good condition, and the feast of the Assumption is celebrated in the chapel in August. The chapel houses an 18th century organ that was recently restored by Robert Buhagiar, with Bank of Valletta funding. Continue reading

Facebook